ABOUT ROSE-TINTED SPECTACLES
AND THE CUSTOMER IS KING

LOOKING THROUGH ROSE-TINTED SPECTACLES MAKES THE WORLD SEEM BEAUTIFUL …

Bildschirmfoto-2016-08-26-um-17.34.16

… but this is merely an opti­cal illu­si­on. Erich Käs­t­ner wro­te in his book “When I was a litt­le boy”: “If you look through rose-tin­ted specta­cles, the world appears to be rosy. The view may be pret­ty, but it is merely an opti­cal illu­si­on. It is a result of the specta­cles; that is not how the world real­ly is.”

Paycoach takes a very acti­ve part in dis­cus­sions about what retail will look like in the future. We often rea­li­se that many of the peop­le invol­ved in retail seem to be wea­ring rose-tin­ted specta­cles when it comes to digi­tal cus­to­mer reten­ti­on. They think that their cus­to­mer reten­ti­on world is rosy. They send out a few news­let­ters cal­ling the cus­to­mer by name, address the cus­to­mer in per­son at the check­out using the name on their credit card, and send them a bir­th­day mes­sa­ge. And they think that is enough to gua­ran­tee cus­to­mer retention.

Let us hear what else Käs­t­ner has to say: “Any­bo­dy who con­fu­ses the two will be sur­pri­sed when life takes the glas­ses off their nose.”

Whe­ther in retail or in the ser­vice indus­try, in the digi­tal or the bricks and mor­tar tra­de, doing what almost ever­y­bo­dy else does is not enough. In other words, the cus­to­mer reten­ti­on world is not rosy. This is merely an effect of the glas­ses through which you are loo­king at your cus­to­mers and their beha­viour. As a result, it is best to look at the cus­to­mer reten­ti­on world without any kind of opti­cal illusion.

LEARN MORE …

THE CUSTOMER
IS MORE OF A KING
THAN EVER BEFORE!

20160214-R6B0361-600x400

Nowa­days, retailers and ser­vice pro­vi­ders no lon­ger need to make kings out of their cus­to­mers. The cus­to­mer is more of a king than ever befo­re, and retailers and ser­vice pro­vi­ders must endea­vour to ensu­re that the cus­to­mer does not lose this roy­al status.

Just like kings, modern cus­to­mers are all-power­ful and, more often than not, have mas­te­red their powers digi­tal­ly. Infor­ma­ti­on, pri­ces and ser­vices are con­stant­ly avail­ab­le to them on their smart­pho­nes. It is no lon­ger so easy to decei­ve them. The only thing that still impres­ses a “king cus­to­mer”, is trust. Cus­to­mers are used to being able to con­trol ever­ything. Sud­den­ly, they are shown what trust means.

Trust is estab­lis­hed when the retailer or ser­vice pro­vi­der does not hum­bly indul­ge the cus­to­mers’ new-found power, but ins­tead sur­pri­ses them. For instance if a cus­to­mer hap­pens to lose track of their expen­ses and can no lon­ger meet their finan­cial obli­ga­ti­ons after a purcha­se. To immedia­te­ly give up on them would be reck­less in today’s world, becau­se with new, modern means of com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on, they could quick­ly spread the word throughout their ent­i­re “king­dom”.

And in the eyes of many peop­le, the cus­to­mer would not be the guil­ty par­ty. Ins­tead, the right approach is to coach the cus­to­mer through the unplea­sant situa­ti­on and offer them trust while you help resol­ve the pay­ment difficulty.

LEARN MORE …

ABOUT ROSE-TINTED SPECTACLES
AND THE CUSTOMER IS KING

LOOKING THROUGH ROSE-TINTED SPECTACLES MAKES THE WORLD SEEM BEAUTIFUL …

Bildschirmfoto-2016-08-26-um-17.34.16

… but this is merely an opti­cal illu­si­on. Erich Käs­t­ner wro­te in his book “When I was a litt­le boy”: “If you look through rose-tin­ted specta­cles, the world appears to be rosy. The view may be pret­ty, but it is merely an opti­cal illu­si­on. It is a result of the specta­cles; that is not how the world real­ly is.”

Paycoach takes a very acti­ve part in dis­cus­sions about what retail will look like in the future. We often rea­li­se that many of the peop­le invol­ved in retail seem to be wea­ring rose-tin­ted specta­cles when it comes to digi­tal cus­to­mer reten­ti­on. They think that their cus­to­mer reten­ti­on world is rosy. They send out a few news­let­ters cal­ling the cus­to­mer by name, address the cus­to­mer in per­son at the check­out using the name on their credit card, and send them a bir­th­day mes­sa­ge. And they think that is enough to gua­ran­tee cus­to­mer retention.

Let us hear what else Käs­t­ner has to say: “Any­bo­dy who con­fu­ses the two will be sur­pri­sed when life takes the glas­ses off their nose.”

Whe­ther in retail or in the ser­vice indus­try, in the digi­tal or the bricks and mor­tar tra­de, doing what almost ever­y­bo­dy else does is not enough. In other words, the cus­to­mer reten­ti­on world is not rosy. This is merely an effect of the glas­ses through which you are loo­king at your cus­to­mers and their beha­viour. As a result, it is best to look at the cus­to­mer reten­ti­on world without any kind of opti­cal illusion.

LEARN MORE …

THE CUSTOMER
IS MORE OF A KING
THAN EVER BEFORE!

20160214-R6B0361-600x400

Nowa­days, retailers and ser­vice pro­vi­ders no lon­ger need to make kings out of their cus­to­mers. The cus­to­mer is more of a king than ever befo­re, and retailers and ser­vice pro­vi­ders must endea­vour to ensu­re that the cus­to­mer does not lose this roy­al status.

Just like kings, modern cus­to­mers are all-power­ful and, more often than not, have mas­te­red their powers digi­tal­ly. Infor­ma­ti­on, pri­ces and ser­vices are con­stant­ly avail­ab­le to them on their smart­pho­nes. It is no lon­ger so easy to decei­ve them. The only thing that still impres­ses a “king cus­to­mer”, is trust. Cus­to­mers are used to being able to con­trol ever­ything. Sud­den­ly, they are shown what trust means.

Trust is estab­lis­hed when the retailer or ser­vice pro­vi­der does not hum­bly indul­ge the cus­to­mers’ new-found power, but ins­tead sur­pri­ses them. For instance if a cus­to­mer hap­pens to lose track of their expen­ses and can no lon­ger meet their finan­cial obli­ga­ti­ons after a purcha­se. To immedia­te­ly give up on them would be reck­less in today’s world, becau­se with new, modern means of com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on, they could quick­ly spread the word throughout their ent­i­re “king­dom”.

And in the eyes of many peop­le, the cus­to­mer would not be the guil­ty par­ty. Ins­tead, the right approach is to coach the cus­to­mer through the unplea­sant situa­ti­on and offer them trust while you help resol­ve the pay­ment difficulty.

LEARN MORE …

ÜBER ROSAROTE BRILLEN
UND DEN KÖNIG KUNDE

ROSAROTE BRILLEN
MACHEN DIE WELT SCHÖN …

Bildschirmfoto-2016-08-26-um-17.34.16

… sind aber eine optische Täuschung. Erich Kästner schreibt in seinem Buch „Als ich ein kleiner Junge war“: „Durch rosarote Brillen sieht die Welt rosarot aus. Das mag ein hübscher Anblick sein, aber es handelt sich um eine optische Täuschung. Es liegt an der Brille und nicht an der Welt.“

Paycoach beteiligt sich sehr aktiv an der Diskussion, wie der Handel der Zukunft aussieht und wir stellen häufig fest, dass viele im Handel beim Thema digitale Kundenbindung eine rosarote Brille tragen. Sie denken, die ihre Kundenbindungswelt sei rosarot. Hier mal ein Newsletter mit Namensnennung, an der Kasse den Kunden mit dem Namen ansprechen, der auf seiner Kreditkarte steht und zum Geburtstag liebe Grüsse senden und der Handel denkt, der Kunde wäre nun ausreichend gebunden.

Lassen wir Kästner noch einmal kurz zu Wort kommen: „Wer beides miteinander verwechselt, wird sich wundern, wenn ihm das Leben die Brille von der Nase nimmt.“

Wer im Handel oder im Dienstleistungsbereich, sei es digital oder stationär, das leistet, was fast alle leisten, leistet eigentlich zu wenig. Das bedeutet, die Kundenbindungswelt ist dann nicht rosa, sondern nur die Brille, mit der man auf seine Kunden und deren Verfassung schaut. Es ist deshalb ratsam, ohne jede Form von optischer Täuschung auf die Kundenbindungswelt zu schauen.

WEITERLESEN …

DER KUNDE IST KÖNIG –
MEHR ALS JE ZUVOR!

20160214-R6B0361-600x400

Heute müssen Handel und Dienstleister keine Könige mehr aus ihren Kunden machen. Der Kunde ist mehr König als je zuvor und Handel und Dienstleister müssen sich darum bemühen, weiterhin Lieferant bleiben zu dürfen.

Der Kunde ist heute, Königen gleich, mit aller Macht ausgestattet und die hat er sich zumeist digital verschafft. Informationen, Preise, Services hat er stets im Smartphone zur Hand. Vormachen kann man ihm so leicht nichts mehr. Das einzige, was dem aufgeklärten „Kundenkönig“ noch imponiert, ist Vertrauen. Wenn er, der es gewohnt ist, alles beherrschen zu können, plötzlich Vertrauen erfährt.

Vertrauen entsteht dann, wenn der Händler oder Dienstleister sich nicht der neuen Macht der Kunden devot hingibt, sondern ihn überrascht. Zum Beispiel dann, wenn ein Kunde mal die Übersicht verliert und seinen finanziellen Verpflichtungen nach einem Kauf nicht nachkommen kann. Ihn voreilig fallen zu lassen, wäre heutzutage fahrlässig, denn er würde es in seinem ganzen „Königreich“ mit seinen neuen Kommunikationsmitteln verbreiten.

Und in den Augen vieler wäre nicht er der Schuldige. Ihn aus der Misslichkeit zu coachen, ihn vertrauensvoll durch die Zahlungsstörung zu begleiten, ist der richtige Weg. So behält man den König und lockt viele andere Kunden an, die wertschätzen, dass der Handelspartner auch dann da ist, wenn es mal komplizierter wird, aus welchem Grund auch immer.

WEITERLESEN …

ROSAROTE BRILLEN
MACHEN DIE WELT SCHÖN …

Bildschirmfoto-2016-08-26-um-17.34.16

… sind aber eine optische Täuschung. Erich Kästner schreibt in seinem Buch „Als ich ein kleiner Junge war“: „Durch rosarote Brillen sieht die Welt rosarot aus. Das mag ein hübscher Anblick sein, aber es handelt sich um eine optische Täuschung. Es liegt an der Brille und nicht an der Welt.“

Paycoach beteiligt sich sehr aktiv an der Diskussion, wie der Handel der Zukunft aussieht und wir stellen häufig fest, dass viele im Handel beim Thema digitale Kundenbindung eine rosarote Brille tragen. Sie denken, die ihre Kundenbindungswelt sei rosarot. Hier mal ein Newsletter mit Namensnennung, an der Kasse den Kunden mit dem Namen ansprechen, der auf seiner Kreditkarte steht und zum Geburtstag liebe Grüsse senden und der Handel denkt, der Kunde wäre nun ausreichend gebunden.

Lassen wir Kästner noch einmal kurz zu Wort kommen: „Wer beides miteinander verwechselt, wird sich wundern, wenn ihm das Leben die Brille von der Nase nimmt.“

Wer im Handel oder im Dienstleistungsbereich, sei es digital oder stationär, das leistet, was fast alle leisten, leistet eigentlich zu wenig. Das bedeutet, die Kundenbindungswelt ist dann nicht rosa, sondern nur die Brille, mit der man auf seine Kunden und deren Verfassung schaut. Es ist deshalb ratsam, ohne jede Form von optischer Täuschung auf die Kundenbindungswelt zu schauen.

WEITERLESEN …

DER KUNDE IST KÖNIG –
MEHR ALS JE ZUVOR!

20160214-R6B0361-600x400

Heute müssen Handel und Dienstleister keine Könige mehr aus ihren Kunden machen. Die sind mehr König, als sie es je waren. Der Kunde ist mehr König als je zuvor und Handel und Dienstleister müssen sich darum bemühen, dass der Kunde seinen Königsstatus nicht verliert.

Der Kunde ist heute, Königen gleich, mit aller Macht ausgestattet und die hat er sich zumeist digital verschafft. Informationen, Preise, Services hat er stets im Smartphone zur Hand. Vormachen kann man ihm so leicht nichts mehr. Das einzige, was dem aufgeklärten „Kundenkönig“ noch imponiert, ist Vertrauen. Wenn er, der es gewohnt ist, alles beherrschen zu können, plötzlich Vertrauen erfährt.

Vertrauen entsteht dann, wenn der Händler oder Dienstleister sich nicht der neuen Macht der Kunden devot hingibt, sondern ihn überrascht. Zum Beispiel dann, wenn ein Kunde mal die Übersicht verliert und seinen finanziellen Verpflichtungen nach einem Kauf nicht nachkommen kann. Ihn voreilig fallen zu lassen, wäre heutzutage fahrlässig, denn er würde es in seinem ganzen „Königreich“ mit seinen neuen Kommunikationsmitteln verbreiten.

Und in den Augen vieler wäre nicht er der Schuldige. Ihn aus der Misslichkeit zu coachen, ihn vertrauensvoll durch die Zahlungsstörung zu begleiten, ist der richtige Weg. So behält man den König und lockt viele andere Kunden an, die wertschätzen, dass der Handelspartner auch dann da ist, wenn es mal komplizierter wird, aus welchem Grund auch immer.

WEITERLESEN …